Security Roles provide advanced Console User management and finer granularity with regards to access to the Console application. All users will fall into one of the six Security roles; with the exception of the 'Global Admin', customers may create an unlimited number of users designated with one of the other five security types.
A user's Security Role is set when a User is Created and may be updated later through User Management.
This article provides a brief description of the security roles that can be assigned to OneView Console Users. Below is a quick summary of the topics discussed.
The System Admin roles provides full access to OneView Console. This is assigned to only one user. For security reasons, this user cannot be deleted, and only Rock Solid staff can change it.
The System Admin roles provides full access to OneView Console. A user with this role has access to all modules, can create and/or delete service requests, create and/or delete user accounts, and full access to Settings and configurations for the system. A System Admin can configure the following system properties such as: Canned Responses, Geofences, Request Types, Workflows, etc. This is the highest security role a console user can have.
The User Admin role provides access to user configurations, such as Teams, User and Developers, in addition to the permissions and access of a User. A user with this role can create and/or delete service requests. However, a User Admin does not have access to system configurations such as: Canned Responses, Geofences, Request Types, Workflows, etc.
The Power User role provides the same access of a regular User. However, the Power User can delete service requests. In addition, the Power User has access to the Messaging module (if enabled in your environment).
The User role provides access only to OneView Console. A user with this role can edit service requests, change status, add comments, add attachments, etc. However, a User cannot delete service requests.
The Viewer role provides access to OneView Console. A user with this role can only view service requests but cannot edit edit them in any way.
With this guide, you have learned what accesses and permissions are granted by each security role in OneView Console.
A disabled User will no longer have the ability to log-in to the Console. Their User Profile can still be visible in the Console, however that disabled User will receive an error message upon attempting to log-in and will no longer have access to the Console or its data.
Similarly through the Action Menu, the User can be deleted, in which case that User will no longer have access to the Console, and their User Profile will no longer appear within the Console.